American Politics subfield

American politics at Notre Dame empirically analyzes mass political behavior, political institutions, and public policies to gain a deeper understanding of the nature of democracy.

We provide a fruitful, collegial, collaborative intellectual community around questions of political equality, political behavior and public opinion, American political development, political parties and representation, and research methods.

The study of American politics has been enriched by the Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy.  The Rooney Center 

  • organizes weekly research workshops for faculty and graduate students
  • sponsors seminars and lectures by visiting scholars
  • organizes conferences
  • provides research grants for students and faculty

 

We emphasize close interaction between faculty and graduate students. In particular, faculty make special efforts to prepare students for future careers through close mentoring and collaborative research projects.

Graduate students simultaneously specialize in a subfield of American politics and develop a broad foundation in the study of American politics.


 

Faculty

Specialty within American Politics

Contact

Peri Arnold

American political development, presidency, public policy, public administration

Peri.E.Arnold.1@nd.edu

574-631-7430

David Campbell

Political participation, religion and politics, education policy

dave_campbell@nd.edu

574-631-7809

Darren Davis

Political and social psychology, political behavior, public opinion, research methods, race and politics

darren.davis@nd.edu

574-631-5654

Matthew Hall

Judicial politics, constitutional law and theory, American political institutions, and research methods

matt.hall@nd.edu

574-631-3015

Geoffrey Layman

Political parties, public opinion, electoral behavior, religion and politics

glayman@nd.edu

574-631-0379

David Nickerson

Political participation, political behavior, experimental methods, social networks

dnickers@nd.edu

574-631-7016

Dianne Pinderhughes

Race and politics, voting rights, urban politics, women and politics

Pinderhughes.1@nd.edu

574-631-3676

Benjamin Radcliff

Political participation, social choice theory, democratic theory, theories of the state, the political determinants of quality of life

Radcliff.1@nd.edu

574-631-3768

Ricardo Ramirez

Political participation, voter mobilization, Latino politics, public opinion, diversity

Ricardo.Ramirez.83@nd.edu

574-631-0352

John Roos, Emeritus

Political thought, Congress, religion and politics

jroos@nd.edu

574-631-7556

Christina Wolbrecht

American political development, political parties, women and politics

Wolbrecht.1@nd.edu

574-631-3836

 

Field Expectations for Second-Year and Third-Year Reviews.