International Relations subfield

Notre Dame has a diverse faculty in International Relations that is growing in national reputation, a number of research centers devoted to international issues, rich library resources, and exceptional funding and research support. 

With more than 40 faculty, the department of Political Science is one of Notre Dame's largest and most respected departments.  Of these, 13 specialize in international relations and they are complemented by numerous specialists housed in the research institutes and in departments across campus.  The size of our IR faculty allows us to combine coverage across international relations theory, international security, and international political economy with a focus in peace and conflict studies.  We also encourage our IR students to take advantage of Notre Dame's renowned resources in the complementary field of comparative politics.

We are a question-driven field and we encourage students to conduct their research in the way most appropriate to those questions.  The department has in-house methods consultants, and we provide funding for graduate students to receive specialized quantitative and qualitative training.

In addition to the Department’s Notre Dame International Security Program (NDISP), two primary research centers of interest to IR scholars are the Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies and the Kellogg Institute for International Studies.

Faculty

Specialty within International Relations

Contact

Michael Desch

Security studies, theory of international politics, US foreign policy

mdesch@nd.edu

574-631-2792

Amitava Dutt

International political economy, globalization, political economy of war & peace

adutt@nd,edu

574-631-7594

Tanisha Fazal

International security, international law, sovereignty, civil wars, international history

tfazal@nd.edu

Gary Goertz

Causes of peace, Interstate rivalry and conflict management, International institutions and regional governance, Methodology

ggoertz@nd.edu

Alexandra Guisinger

Crisis diplomacy, international political economy, globalization

Guisinger.1@nd.edu

574-631-3846

Victoria Tin-Bor Hui

state formation and state-society relations, contentious politics and resistance movements, transformation of world politics, political culture

thui@nd.edu

574-631-7570

Robert Johansen, Emeritus

United Nations, global governance, peace studies

rjohans1@nd.edu

574-631-6971

Dan Lindley

Security studies, ethnic conflict, peacekeeping, U.S. foreign policy

lindley.3@nd.edu

574-631-3226

Daniel Philpott

Religion and global politics, transitional justice, ethics and international relations

philpott.1@nd.edu

574-631-7667

Emilia Powell

International law, international courts, dispute resolution

epowell4@nd.edu

574-631-1460

Patrick Regan

Civil wars, Conflict management, External interventions

pregan3@nd.edu

Sebastian Rosato

International relations theory, international security

srosato@nd.edu

574-631-0378

Ernesto Verdeja

large-scale political violence, transitional justice, forgiveness and reconciliation, apologies and reparations

everdeja@nd.edu

574-631-8533

 

Field Expectations for Second-Year and Third-Year Reviews.