University of Notre Dame, College of Arts and Letters
  Winter 2012-13
Notre Dame Seal
Four Scholars Join Political Science Faculty

The Department of Political Science at Notre Dame welcomes four prominent scholars to its faculty this year, including professors Gary Goertz and Patrick Regan, both specialists in international relations, and associate professors Patrick Deneen in constitutional studies and Guillermo Trejo in comparative politics. Read More

Ambassador Douglas Griffiths
Alumnus Named Ambassador to Mozambique

Douglas Griffiths ’86 has been a professional globetrotter for more than two decades—not collecting postcards but rather serving his country in U.S. diplomatic outposts all over the world, including Haiti and Ecuador. Griffiths, who majored in government at Notre Dame, was appointed U.S. Ambassador to Mozambique in July 2012. Read More

Michael Zuckert
Michael Zuckert Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

University of Notre Dame political scientist Michael Zuckert has been awarded the 2011 Jack Miller Center Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Academic Excellence. According to the prize committee, the honor recognizes Zuckert’s scholarship as well as “his extraordinary ability as a classroom teacher.” Read More

Debra Javeline
Climate Change Course Draws on Real-Time Research

Bringing her latest research into the classroom, Debra Javeline, associate professor in the Notre Dame’s Department of Political Science, is helping undergraduate students make a connection between politics and biology. Read More

Also in This Issue
Faculty Employ Students in Research Apprenticeship

Moreau Fellow Studies Student Loan Policies

Ph.D. Alumnus Awarded Fellowship at Brown

Senior Makes Mark at Summer Institute

Department of Political Science

Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy

The Review of Politics

Notre Dame International Security Program

News and Events

Follow Us on Facebook