Democratization Theory Research Cluster Workshop


Location: Hesburgh Center C103

Workshop organizers: Faculty Fellows Michael Coppedge (political science), Gary Goertz (political science), Aníbal Pérez-Liñan (political science), Dianne M. Pinderhughes (africana studies and political science), and Samuel Valenzuela (sociology).

The Democratization Theory research cluster continues the Kellogg Institute’s long tradition as a center for innovative thinking in democratization theory. For decades, the concepts and measures used in democratization research have fallen short of being able to adequately capture the diversity, complexity, and dynamism of political regimes. As both older and newer democracies experience democratic retrogression rather than advancement, fresh thinking is needed.

The annual workshop is a forum for the sharing and discussion of current research on democratization theory conducted across Notre Dame.  

For details on panel themes and start times:

Originally published at