News » Archives: April 2016

New Publication by Luc Reydams

April 27, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Luc Reydam wrote a report for the European Parliament that has just been published. It can be found here. …

Notre Dame Day 2016

April 22, 2016, Lacey Barroso


Notre Dame Day is a global celebration of the Notre Dame mission that engages, informs, and inspires people to take action and give back. Notre Dame Day is a chance to celebrate and give to what you love most about the University!…

Congratulations, Tanisha Fazal!

April 19, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Congratulations to Tanisha Fazal, who has received a Guggenheim Foundation grant. This grant will enable her to take a research leave next year. 


2016 Senior Thesis Winners

April 15, 2016, Lacey Barroso

We are pleased to announce the winners of the department's annual prizes! Thank you, Joshua Kaplan, for providing the below information. 

The John Roos Prize for the best senior thesis in the field of American Politics goes to Adam Henderson for his thesis, "Playing the Catholic Card: Catholic Candidate and Religious Cues." Adam's thesis was advised by David Campbell.

Congratulations, Sandra Botero!

April 15, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Sandra Botero has received the 2016 dissertation prize from the Law and Society Association, for her dissertation "Courts That Matter: Judges, Litigants, and the Politics of Rights Enforcement in Latin America."

Congratulations to Sandra, and to the co-directors of her dissertation, Scott Mainwaring and Dan Brinks.…

"Politics in church may hurt religion, but it helps churches"

April 13, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Graduate students Andre P. Audette and Christopher L. Weaver have recently co-authored an article for the LSE US Centre's daily blog on American Politics and Policy. View the entire article here. …

The Denny Moore Award for Excellence in Journalism winner

April 13, 2016, Lacey Barroso

The Denny Moore Award for Excellence in Journalism was presented to Maggie Bowers, from Wilmington, Delaware. This award is given to a graduating senior who exemplify the qualities of Moore, a former Notre Dame associate vice president, who was known for his integrity, character, commitment to Notre Dame and writing ability.…

Professor Campbell interviewed by PBS

April 07, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Professor David E. Campbell, Packey J. Dee Professor of American Democracy and chairperson of the Department of Political Science, was recently interviewed on the PBS show, "Religion and Ethics NewsWeekly." Follow the link here

Fulbright Fellowship Winner

April 06, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Congratulations to Emily Migliore, a graduating senior, who has won a Fulbright Fellowship as an English Teaching Assistant  in Mexico! …

Congratulations to Catherine Zuckert!

April 05, 2016, Lacey Barroso

We are pleased to announce that Catherine Zuckert has been selected to receive the 2016 James A. Burns, C.S.C. Award for
Graduate Education. This is a tremendous honor. No one deserves it more than Catherine, given her tireless work on behalf of our graduate students.…

National Science Foundation Award Winners

April 05, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Congratulations to Jeremy Graham (IR) and Juan Valdez (American) who were both awarded a Graduate
Research Fellowship by the National Science Foundation.  

In addition, both Mark Brockway (American) and Andrea Pena-Vasquez (Comparative)
each received an honorable mention.…

Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award Winner!

April 05, 2016, Lacey Barroso

Congratulations to Nara Pavao who won the Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award this year!

The Shaheen Awards recognize one outstanding graduate student from each of the four divisions of the Graduate School: Humanities, Social Sciences,
Science, and Engineering. This is a highly selective and competitive award, and we are thrilled to see one of our graduate students win it! …