The Denny Moore Award for Excellence in Journalism winner

April 13, 2016Lacey Barroso

The Denny Moore Award for Excellence in Journalism was presented to Maggie Bowers, from Wilmington, Delaware. This award is given to a graduating senior who exemplify the qualities of Moore, a former Notre Dame associate vice president, who was known for his integrity, character, commitment to Notre Dame and writing ability.

Bowers, a political science and film, television and theatre major, is the editor-in-chief of 2015-16 The Dome yearbook, and has strived to make the 352-page book both relevant and compelling for her peers. She has been an effective supervisor of a large staff, mobilizing them over a seven-month period to cover talked-about campus topics such as the decision to resume purchasing University licensed apparel from a limited number of factories in China, the GreenDot bystander intervention program and the impact of the new residence halls on the campus community.