Hail to the Chief(s)

Author: Liquid error: internal

In addition to their teaching and research within the department, several political science faculty members serve in leadership roles in other units around campus, including those listed here.

David Campbell, John Cardinal O'Hara, C.S.C., Associate Professor of Political Science, is director of the Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy, created last year with a $10 million gift from the Francis and Kathleen Rooney Foundation. All 14 of the center's faculty fellows are from the Department of Political Science.

Darren Davis, professor of political science, has been appointed Notre Dame's associate vice president for research. Working out of the Office of Research, he oversees compliance, ensuring that University researchers are aware of and embrace ethical principles and procedures for interacting with both human and animal subjects.

Vittorio Hösle, Paul G. Kimball Professor of Arts and Letters and concurrent professor of political science, is director of the Notre Dame Institute for Advanced Study. Opened this fall, the institute offers faculty and graduate fellowships and welcomes proposals from any field, supporting inquiries grounded in a specific discipline that engage the world’s greatest questions.

Scott Mainwaring, Eugene P. and Helen Conley Professor of Political Science, serves as director of the Kellogg Institute for International Studies, where academic and research activities focus on five themes: democratization and the quality of democracy, growth and development, public policies for social justice, religion and society, and social movements and organized civil society.

A. James McAdams, Dr. William M. Scholl Professor of International Affairs, directs the Nanovic Institute for European Studies. The institute, which counts 20 members of the Department of Political Science as faculty fellows, sponsors a number of initiatives, such as grants and fellowships for faculty and students, visiting scholar programs, and the annual Terrence R. Keeley Visiting Vatican Lecture.

Rev. Timothy Scully, C.S.C., professor of political science, directs the Institute for Educational Initiatives. Among its programs is the Alliance for Catholic Education, which Scully cofounded in 1993 with Rev. Sean McGraw, C.S.C., now also a member of the political science faculty. At an Oval Office ceremony last December, Scully received a Presidential Citizens Medal—the second highest distinction the president can confer upon a civilian—for his work in education.